Welcome, horror enthusiasts, to the bone-chilling world of the Conjuring Universe! Prepare yourselves for a spine-tingling journey through one of the most terrifying and successful franchises in recent years.

From haunted houses to possessed dolls, this cinematic universe has been keeping audiences on the edge of their seats since its inception in 2013 with “The Conjuring”. So grab your crucifixes and get ready as we delve into the dark depths of the Conjuring Universe timeline, where nightmares come alive and fear knows no bounds!

Here is the timeline of The Conjuring Universe, including both the main Conjuring films and the spin-off Annabelle films:

1Annabelle: Creation (2017)

Photo: Annabelle: Creation (2017)/Filmdb.co.uk

This film is set in 1946, with flashbacks to 1952 and 1958, and a main storyline set in 1970. It serves as a prequel to Annabelle.

Plot: Several years after the tragic death of their little girl, a doll maker and his wife welcome a nun and several girls from a shuttered orphanage into their home, soon becoming the target of the doll maker’s possessed creation—Annabelle.

Starring: Stephanie Sigman, Talitha Bateman, Lulu Wilson

2The Nun (2018)

Photo: The Nun (2018)/Filmdb.co.uk

Set in 1952, with a subplot taking place in 1971, this film explores the origins of the demonic nun Valak, who was first introduced in The Conjuring 2.

Plot: A priest with a haunted past and a novice on the threshold of her final vows are sent by the Vatican to investigate the death of a young nun in Romania and confront a malevolent force in the form of a demonic nun.

Starring: Taissa Farmiga, Demián Bichir, Bonnie Aarons

3The Nun II (2023)

Photo: The Nun II (2023)/Filmdb.co.uk

Plot: 1956 – France. A priest is murdered. An evil is spreading. The sequel to the worldwide smash hit follows Sister Irene as she once again comes face-to-face with Valak, the demon nun.

Starring: Bonnie Aarons, Taissa Farmiga, Jonas Bloquet

4Annabelle (2014)

Photo: Annabelle (2014)/Filmdb.co.uk

Set in 1970, this film follows the story of the possessed doll Annabelle, which was featured in The Conjuring.

Plot: A couple begins to experience terrifying supernatural occurrences involving a vintage doll shortly after their home is invaded by satanic cultists.

Starring: Annabelle Wallis, Ward Horton, Tony Amendola

5The Conjuring (2013)

Photo: The Conjuring (2013)/Filmdb.co.uk

Set in 1971, this is the first installment in the main Conjuring series. It follows paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren as they help a family plagued by a malevolent presence in their farmhouse.

Plot: Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren work to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse. Forced to confront a powerful entity, the Warrens find themselves caught in the most terrifying case of their lives.

Starring: Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga, Lili Taylor

6. Annabelle Comes Home (2019)

Photo: Annabelle Comes Home (2019)/Filmdb.co.uk

This film is set in 1971, immediately after the events of The Conjuring. It follows the Warrens as they bring the Annabelle doll to their artifact room, only for it to awaken other malevolent spirits.

Plot: Determined to keep Annabelle from wreaking more havoc, demonologists Ed and Lorraine Warren bring the possessed doll to the locked artifacts room in their home, placing her “safely” behind sacred glass and enlisting a priest’s holy blessing. But an unholy night of horror awaits as Annabelle awakens the evil spirits in the room, who all set their sights on a new target—the Warrens’ ten-year-old daughter, Judy, and her friends.

Starring: Vera Farmiga, Patrick Wilson, Mckenna Grace

6The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021)

Photo: The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It (2021)/Filmdb.co.uk

This film takes place in 1981 and serves as the third installment in the main Conjuring series. It follows the real-life case of Arne Cheyenne Johnson, who claimed demonic possession as a defense in a murder trial.

Plot: Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren encounter what would become one of the most sensational cases from their files. The fight for the soul of a young boy takes them beyond anything they’d ever seen before, to mark the first time in U.S. history that a murder suspect would claim demonic possession as a defense.

Starring: Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga, Ruairí O’Connor

From the Annabelle films to the main Conjuring movies, and even some spin-off projects, The Conjuring Universe has grown into a spooky and beloved universe. With its timeline spanning from 1958 to 1981, this franchise is sure to thrill anyone who loves horror films.

Whether or not you choose to delve into the dark depths of The Conjuring Universe yourself, we hope that our guide will provide an entertaining look at one of today’s most successful franchises.

*Please note that the upcoming film “The Conjuring: Last Rites” is not included in the current timeline information available. Additionally, there are other spin-off films within The Conjuring Universe, such as “The Curse of La Llorona” (2019) and “The Crooked Man” (upcoming), which have connections but may not directly follow the chronological timeline of the main franchise.