From the iconic T-Rex roar to the thrilling car chases, the Jurassic Park and World franchise has captured our hearts for over two decades. With each film delivering bigger thrills and more terrifying dinos, it’s no wonder these movies have been a box office sensation! Join us as we take a deep dive into all five films in the series, ranking them by their impressive box office earnings.

Get ready to relive all your favorite moments from Isla Nublar with this exciting countdown of all things Jurassic!

6Jurassic Park 3D (2013) – $104.9 million

Photo: Jurassic Park (1993) – Directed by Steven Spielberg

The Steven Spielberg-directed original Jurassic Park movie was released in 1993 to critical acclaim and box office success. The franchise would continue with 1997’s The Lost World: Jurassic Park and 2001’s Jurassic Park III. Following the release of the highest-grossing movie of all time, Avatar, in 2009, Spielberg decided to re-release Jurassic Park in 3D. The film was converted to 3D during post-production and released in 2013. It grossed over $100 million at the worldwide box office, becoming the fifth highest-grossing film of 2013.

Starring: Sam Neill,Laura Dern,Jeff Goldblum

5Jurassic Park III (2001) – $368.8 million

Jurassic Park III (2001) – Directed by Joe Johnston

As the third instalment in the Jurassic Park franchise, Jurassic Park III (2001) faced high expectations. The film was a commercial success, grossing over $368 million at the box office. However, it was not as well-received by critics as the previous two films. Many felt that the story was unoriginal and lacked the suspense of the first two films. Nevertheless, Jurassic Park III remains a popular entry in the franchise and is considered a cult classic by many fans.

Starring: Sam Neill,William H. Macy,Téa Leoni

4The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997) – $618.6 million

The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997) – Directed by Steven Spielberg

Picking up where Jurassic Park (1993) left off, The Lost World: Jurassic Park follows a team of researchers led by Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum) as they travel to Isla Sorna, the island where the dinosaurs were created. Of course, things go awry and the group must find a way to escape the angry prehistoric beasts. The film was directed by Steven Spielberg and also starred Julianne Moore and Vince Vaughn.

Starring: Jeff Goldblum,Julianne Moore,Pete Postlethwaite

3Jurassic Park (1993) – $1.03 billion

The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1993) – Directed by Steven Spielberg

Jurassic Park was a smash hit when it was first released in 1993, and its success at the box office has only grown in the years since. The movie grossed $1.03 billion worldwide, making it the highest-grossing film of all time (adjusted for inflation). Jurassic Park helped launch the careers of several major Hollywood stars, including Sam Neill, Laura Dern, Jeff Goldblum, and Richard Attenborough. The film’s special effects were groundbreaking for their time, and the movie’s popularity led to two sequels: The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997) and Jurassic World (2015).

Starring: Sam Neill,Laura Dern,Jeff Goldblum

2Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018) – $1.3 billion

Photo: Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom (2018) – Directed by J. A. Bayona

Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom is a 2018 American science fiction film directed by J. A. Bayona and written by Colin Trevorrow and Derek Connolly, from a story by Trevorrow and shared universe creator Michael Crichton. The sequel to Jurassic World (2015), it is the fifth instalment of the Jurassic Park franchise, as well as the second in the Jurassic World trilogy. Producer Frank Marshall returned to produce the film, while Steven Spielberg served as an executive producer. Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, B. D. Wong, Jeff Goldblum, Daniella Pineda, Justice Smith, Toby Jones, Rafe Spall and Isabella Sermon all reprised their roles from previous films in the series; with James Cromwell appearing as Benjamin Lockwood—a new character created for this film.

They are joined by Geraldine Chaplin in a brief cameo role. Set three years after the destruction of Jurassic World on Isla Nublar, Fallen Kingdom follows Owen Grady (Pratt) and Claire Dearing (Howard) as they rescue dinosaurs from a soon-to-explode volcano on Isla Nublar and bring them back into human society for protection.

The film was released on June 22, 2018 in RealD 3D and IMAX. It grossed over $1 billion worldwide.

Starring: Chris Pratt,Bryce Dallas Howard,Rafe Spall

1Jurassic World (2015) – $1.67 billion

Photo: Jurassic World (2015) – Directed by Colin Trevorrow

Jurassic World (2015) is a science fiction action film and the fourth installment in the Jurassic Park franchise. It was directed by Colin Trevorrow and stars Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, Vincent D’Onofrio, Ty Simpkins, Nick Robinson, Omar Sy, BD Wong, and Irrfan Khan. The film grossed over $1.67 billion at the worldwide box office, making it the second highest-grossing film of all time.

Jurassic World is set twenty-two years after the events of Jurassic Park. The park has been open for business for ten years and is now a successful tourist destination. However, attendance has begun to decline due to visitor boredom. To solve this problem, park owner Simon Masrani hires scientists Owen Grady and Claire Dearing to create a new attraction: a genetically-modified dinosaur called the Indominus rex.

The Indominus soon escapes its enclosure and goes on a rampage through the park, killing people and dinosaurs alike. Owen and Claire team up with Dinosaur Protection Group member Hoskins to stop the Indominus before it can reach the mainland and cause even more destruction.

Jurassic World was praised for its visual effects, acting, direction, action sequences, and screenplay. However, some critics felt that it relied too heavily on nostalgia for the original Jurassic Park film.

Starring: Chris Pratt,Bryce Dallas Howard,Ty Simpkins

These box office numbers are based on worldwide grosses. As you can see, the most recent Jurassic World movies have been the biggest box office successes for the franchise.